Main Themes in Project So Far (to help construct essay)

November 9, 2011 § Leave a comment

Satisfaction and happiness – the difference
Money and materialism does not satisfy us
Satisfaction is different for everyone
Factors that do improve satisfaction – relationships, meaning, health, others
Small, petty satisfactions vs large, life-changing ones
Futility of searching for permanent satisfaction – better to accept flow of feeling
On flip side – building up positive experiences will help us deal with negative ones and improve life overall

This can be organised as so:

Introduction

Chapter 1: Define area
Satisfaction and happiness – the difference

Chapter 2: What’s the point of designing for/pursuing satisfaction?
Futility of searching for permanent satisfaction – better to accept flow of feeling (Buddhism)
On flip side – building up positive experiences will help us deal with negative ones and improve life overall (flourishing ratio)

Chapter 3: What does and doesn’t give satisfaction

Money and materialism does not satisfy us (Status Anxiety)
Factors that do improve satisfaction – relationships, meaning, health, others (This Book Has Feelings, and Diener)
Satisfaction is different for everyone – as result of my experiments

Chapter 4: My input
Small, petty satisfactions vs large, life-changing ones – my proposed experiments
Satisfaction scale I have come up with

Conclusion

Whahey! Finally consolidated all my areas of interest in satisfaction in this plan. Phew I feel relieved and satisfied 🙂 that means I can allow myself to take a break from this – and do the Territories presentation tomorrow!

Ok so this satisfied feeling that I feel right now is pleasant, I’d go so far to say I feel happy, almost celebratory. I also feel less pressure to work – so I’m less motivated (but somehow I keep writing – perhaps that’s the flow thing that Csikszentmihalyi talks about). I stretch, I think about things I have to do next, but nice things like going out. I’m rewarding myself as a result of my satisfaction with meeting my goals – but perhaps not everyone does that.

I think the reason I am satisfied is because I have been building up to this ‘writing the plan’ moment for a few days. I keep putting it off – I mean, kept! – because I was unclear about what to do. That procrastination makes the satisfaction sweeter. Perhaps the longer you have to wait, the sweeter the satisfaction.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Main Themes in Project So Far (to help construct essay) at The Adventures of a Well-Being Superhero.

meta

