Contentment

December 20, 2011 § Leave a comment

There’s a common misconception (in my opinion) about contentment. People think that contentment will lead to laziness. In fact, as Mihalyi Cizintkmihalyi says, true satisfaction comes when we are growing. In that case, we are content when we are growing, and we need to keep growing to keep up that contentment.

I’m speaking from my own experience too. It’s possible that other people are content without growing. I can’t imagine that for myself. I don’t understand those people – perhaps those people ought not be content so they continue to be productive. Me – I’m only content with myself if I have been/am being productive, be that in work (that I enjoy and feel is useful) or socially.

My project is based on theory, so that I can take inspiration from something respected to validate my work.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Contentment at The Adventures of a Well-Being Superhero.

meta

